Thursday, October 11, 2007

Just Breakfast Cereal...?

Lookin' for some healthy alternative to the normal breakfast, we looked around for some breakfast cereal at our nearby Foodworld. Cornflakes have been on our table for quite some time, so this time around we decided to try out some muesli! After spending some time checking out cartons on the shelves of Foodworld, we picked up something that seemed to have a good mix of cereal and was decently priced.

It was only the next morning on actually consuming the contents did we realise that we definitely got a lot more than we had Sodexhoed for! Whether it was just an overdose of verbose English (with lots of verbs, adjectives and adverbs thrown in) or something much much more we really don't know! Take a look at snaps of the carton for more details. What do you think?


(click the images to see at full res, hit the 'Back' button to return)

If you couldn't read it, here is the transcript (tho' better read directly on the image) of what's written there (word-for-word, punctuation-mark-for-punctuation-mark, formatting-for-formatting):


Avee's [TM]
Western Style
Crunchy Muesli
Most Delicious celebrated & World Popular Mingle clustered with Raisins, Almonds & various Energetic Fruits and Foods


Western Style Crunchy Muesli
It's origin has been from Switzerland and other western countries, which proved magnificent results on mind, mood, physique, stamina, tummy, digestive system, tolerance, longitivity, and general health. Hence the western Style Crunchy Muesli has been much appreciated and motivated the liking and love of maximum personalities of various spheres of life in the world.

Benefits
Western Style Crunchy Muesli avoids dowdy or slacking & keeps one alert, smart, attractive, young, impressive and dominating. Being a most be-fitting low-fat-diet keeps a person ever-ready to take up any task successfully any time of a day or night & produce outstanding results.

Gives stamina to devote more hours on work without break & without feeling dowdy or dour.
Least time consuming and is a perfect low fat diet and a fastest food available any time without much of struggle.

Boosts vitamins, reduces cholesterol, maintains youth-fulness.

Taste & Consumption
Western Style Crunchy Muesli consumption goes up for its delicious taste, health-giving ingredients, life-long benefits and facilitates fast food.

Fibre Edible GrainsRegular use of western style crunchy muesli boosts appetite-an orderly healthy routine, maintains smart physique, stamina & sexual urge.

-----


(now to the side of the box)

(up closer if you wish)


And if you couldn't read it, here is the transcript (tho' better read directly on the image) of what's written on the side (word-for-word, punctuation-mark-for-punctuation-mark, formatting-for-formatting):

Healthy Family Food

AVEE’S WESTERN STYLE CRUNCHY MUESLI CAN BE SERVED AT ANY AND ALL TIMES OF A DAY.

Serve preferably with milk at breakfast. Also with curd, cream, yogurt as snacks and loafs etc to one’s likes, choice and requirements. With developing taste increase the regular quantity and consumption.

Most Energetic and a health gift

Keep open stuff in airtight container
-----


Now, did that carton really contain an elixir of life or something like that? Does it also mean, this over-the-shelf box of cereal can compete with the (prescription only) little-blue-pill made by a multinational pharmaceutical giant? What do you think?

And once you done with it do head on to http://www.avees.co.in/ for more in-vigour-ating surprizes!

Sunday, October 07, 2007

Got a New Key!



Well, that's my key bunch! Something I carry around all the time (atleast most of the time). It has keys to our bikes, my office desk drawers and a couple of cable locks (nice to tie down those helmets when you can't carry 'em along!)

So.... a shiny big new key's just been added to be bunch! And we are happy at the event! It sure is a big deal for us, a big milestone!

So what, if it is just a duplicate?
So what, if it is not the original?
So what, if it we haven't even officially taken posession of what it intends to lock?
So what, if what it intends to lock is not even complete?
So what, if we are actually not supposed to have a copy?


After all it is just a duplicate key.... well, for us, it is a lot more than that!

Saturday, October 06, 2007

Coward of the County?

One thing I like bout Saturday mornings is the fact that Radio Indigo plays some nice oldies instead of the "modern" tasteless music that they beam every weekday morning.

This morning as I got ready for a busy day ahead I was delighted to hear an old favourite of mine. "Coward of the County" by Kenny Rogers! As I sang along, enjoying those real meaningful lyrics, little did I know what they would mean to me a few of hours later.


About 3 hours later I was on St. Mark's Road heading towards Infantry road. I was pleased that I managed to get to the M.G. Road junction and cross it with the green signal still on. As the one way converges to just one side towards Cubbon Road, there is a usual rush to get in line. I had been tracking these few (what seemed like) brand new cars in front of me ever since they emerged the showroom on St. Mark's road. One among them was a new black Logan.

Amidst the rush to converge and clear those criss-cross lines on MG Road there was this sudden situation where the cars ahead of me braked. I did too. It was a sharp one and I braked hard. Suddenly I felt a bump in the back (seems pretty familiar now).

Looked behind a grossly overweight guy on a Pulsar looked on as if nothing had happened. Got off went behind my Wave and looked for damages. Nothing noticeable. Seems like that guy had hit the silencer. As I sat back rode on, noticed that care a damn attitude from the fat guy behind.

I was irritated. If someone rear ends you, it is his mistake and this guy was not even apologetic! If someone acknowledges their mistake and is apologetic it more than makes up even for any financial loss (broken parts) incurred. I have not braked hard enuff at times and have apologised immediately. Others have bumped me from behind and immediately said "sorry" or raised a hand in apology.

So I pull to the left (still observing this fat guy in the mirror) and let him pass me. As he overtakes I just look him in the eye and say (in Hindi) "at least you could say a sorry!"

That was it. He exploded like a volcano. I felt he tried to kick my bike. As I rode ahead (still lotsa traffic) he chased me hurling expletives. Then I had to brake to stop at the first row of the Cubbon road junction signal. This guy decides to do it again. Now purposely he runs into my Wave from behind. This was too much! First it was a mistake now on purpose. I get angry, and look behind.

He asks his pillion to get off, puts his bike on the side stand (caring little bout the Indicab which his bike is now touching) and walks towards me. Before I realise, this guy, still abusing at will, hands me a tight slap. Luckily I feel nothing coz of my helmet (which is still on and never came off during the entire episode, his did).

People around look on as if nothing happened, without even caring to intervene. I looked around but no cops could be seen for help. The only guy who happened to help was the pillion of that Pulsar. He seemed sensible and kept physically pulling this hunk back (even tho' he was much smaller in size).

This loathful damn (very restricted words) idiot, kept abusing me like crazy. He still insisted on keeping his front wheel pressed onto the Wave's rear plastic mudguard. I got off, put the bike on the centre stand and went back to check. After much shouting he pulled back. I noticed that he managed to pop out the rear tail lamp's reflector with the second purpose bump. Luckily it went back with a slight blow from my palm. I went back to riding position, with this 130 kg swollen pig still abusing and using his choice of body parts.

Every time I would raise my voice in return, he would dismount his bike and come to thrash me (now I know why his bike looked so scratched and banged up, he didn't even care). I tried to talk sane saying there is something called courtesy and you cannot raise your hand against anyone like that. Didn't effect him. He kept hurling abuses with everyone watching.

We did managed to have some verbal during all that. Or infact it was I managed to speak and he managed to shout back!

(Conversation was in Hindi, tho' am posting here in English). I asked "You should have braked in time, when I could stop in time with vehicles in front of me, why couldn't you?" His response: "Stop? How dare you suddenly apply the brake and not expect me to bang you?"

(Don't I have the right to stop at will. I am not jumping lanes or swerving into anothers' path. Just stopping in a straight line where I was).

So I say "Vehicles in front of me braked hard, so I braked too!" His response "Rickshaw to the left of me, car to the right of me, you in front of me, whom else can I crash into but you?!" (as if stopping in time was not even an option!)

I kept saying "There is something called courtesy, how can you strike someone just like that?"
He goes on "Can't control himself, telling me to control!" And the abuses went on! :)

I refuse to believe his brakes were not powerful enough (happens in some cases). He was not on some old scooter with drum brakes (as a matter of fact, I was on drum brakes)! He was on a Pulsar with disk brakes! And they can stop hard and fast if you want to! Ofcourse he must have not been paying attention or dreaming to not stop fast enough. Ofcourse I now realise he did have a lot of momentum to stop. He weighed as much as the poor Pulsar 150 under him :(.

The signal finally turned green after the stipulated 2.5 minutes and I rode on straight towards Infantry Road, the guy behind still shouting to a right onto Cubbon road.

As I rode on, I thought what was my fault. Don't I have a right to brake as fast and as hard as I can to avoid bumping something in front of me? Isn't it the responsibility of the guy behind to maintain sufficient distance and stop in time to avoid a collision? And if he cannot, at least acknowledge the fact that he tried! Also what if I was on my Pulsar 180 instead of the diminutive (in comparison) Wave? Would he have acknowledged the fact that I was on a bike bigger than his Pulsar 150 (if he would even care to notice)?

I was till fuming, angry, very angry! Then I started pondering... did I do the right thing by not fighting back? Even if I knew I was right. In fact I barely fought back verbally. Did I get intimidated by the fact he dismounted his bike every time I raised my voice in retaliation? Did I act cowardly by not giving him back tooth-for-a-tooth and nail-for-a-nail in a fight which he may have won, but at least I wouldn't be a coward. Or did I let sane prevail by not bothering about my pride and ego, and leaving these petty matters as I had more important things to do during the course of the day instead of ending up risking skin and bone against some idiotic goon?

It was then that the words of the song came back to my mind! The eternal dilemma!

What do you think?