Thursday, July 24, 2008

Commuting through a Storm Drain

Commuting to work is one of the most boring aspects of riding! Esp, to those of us who like to head out of town! Unfortunately it also makes up for more than 90% (atleast for me unfortunately) of riding time and distance on that odometer!

However on a day to day basis, I keep trying out a lot of stuff to make my 16 to 22 km (oneway, depending on the route I take) commute interesting and eventful. I normally try to look for alternative routes in order to save time or have a more enjoyable ride! Shortcuts can be fun and challenging as well (got stuck a couple of times before).

Today was one of these days! Happened to start from home deciding to take the longish (20km) route (Netaji Road, Richard's Park, Davis Road, Banasawadi Road, Dodda Banaswadi, Outer Ring Road, Old Madras Road (OMR), KR Puram, Outer Ring Road (ORR), Marthahalli, Office). I kinda like this route coz it is very varied. From narrow roads around DaCosta Layout, to the (relatively) crowded Kamanahalli flyover to the nice curves in the Dodda Banaswadi village finally the straights of the ORR where you can have a short blast at cracking the ton and dry off some of the perspiration you have collected in your jacket earlier in the commute.

The only pain point in this route is the jam I normally encounter under the KR Puram hanging bridge/flyover. Those of you who have ever tried to get on to the ORR (Towards Marthahalli/Whitefield) from Old Madras Road (coming from Indiranagar) by turning right under the KR Puram Hanging flyover will know how much of a pain it is in peak commuting hours. Between 8 and 10 AM it is filled with full size trucks, tractor trailers, cars and bikes all moving at snails' pace. It normally isn't a jam per se, but a go-slow because of the sudden funneling action of the OMR towards ORR. For a guy on a bike with a jacket and helmet on, it can become gruelling! The hot sun compounded by hot exhausts means a really frustrating time and a perspiration soaked helmet and jacket. It can take anywhere between 5 and 20 minutes to clear that stretch. And sometimes the jams are so long that it extends right over the flyover (of the ORR from Banaswadi joining the OMR).

I realised that this jam is mainly for those intending to turn right under the flyover. Those climbing the Hanging Bridge have no issues at all! They just continue, clearing the jam quickly.

So this morning as I was approaching KR Puram, I made a mental note to take the hanging bridge and then figure a way to come back to the ORR. When I approached KR Puram, I noticed the jam was not too great, but since I anyhow had not much work in office, decided to explore a new route nevertheless.. to use on some busy day.

Continued over the hanging bridge after some last minute mind switches! Crossed it after years! The ramp approaching it seemed overly undulating! Anyway, I crossed the bridge to notice a gap in the median as soon as I descended on the other side, I noticed a gap in the median and vehicles crossing over to the right! "Just what I was looking for" I thought, taking it. Turned around and this time I didn't climb back onto the flyover (afterall I didn't wanna go back). Took the service road besides it. Kept going till I reached a virtual dead end (that was comprised of the KR Puram Railway Station and the ITI Factory). Saw most riders taking a detour towards the left though (in the direction I too wanted to head to). Followed them.

The road soon disappeared and it turned out to be a muddy stone filled path. But many 2-wheelers where headed in the same direction, so I followed. With the tracks on my right, I could see the vehicles slowing down. Soon they were trickling into what seemed like a "Sea of Helmets"! Wow it looked nice. Shiny (mostly black) helmets all glowing in an unusually hot sun! I so badly wanted to take out my cam and shoot the sight, but couldn't.

Finally I noticed that everyone was waiting to cross the tracks. Sure enough a train passed by as we waited. Now what I thought was these guys were waiting for the train to pass (like most riders in Bangalore do when they have to cross an underpass with a passenger train goes overhead... to avoid any falling ). But I could notice a trickle of vehicles coming in from the other side. Soon this trickle stopped and people from my side began crossing under. By the time I reached the underpass, I was shocked!

It was NOT an underpass! It was a narrow gutter/storm drain. Wide enough for only one bike at a time to pass, it was a dark, dingy wet tunnel (missed the bats). Barely wide enough to let your handlebar and shoulders thru' and also tall enough not to scrape your helmet (I was ducking anyhow). Was fun crossing it! Infact when I emerged into daylight on the otherside, I was suprised to see another similar line of vehicles waiting to come in.

But what surprised me even further was the kind of patience and cooperation the commuters showed towards each other. There was absolute silence with no honking/shouting on either side, even considering the buildup of a "sea of helmets". This is very unBangalorean in traffic sense! Almost like Europe! Riders on each side would patiently wait for an entire crowd on one side to clear off before they could begin entering the tunnel themselves! Very organised and cooperative.

I was so amused by the whole experience that when I got out, I pulled over, fished out my back up cam (that I now always carry along) and took some snaps... thinking of this post as I reached office!

Take a look:

Just notice the space around the rider emerging in the centre. You can only enter single-file.

Notice how patiently the riders outside wait for their turn to get in.


Train on the tracks, 2 wheelers in the storm drain!

And for those of you who want to see the Map location, check out the map on: http://picasaweb.google.com/glifford/RidingThroughAStormDrain

Well I don't think I saved any time, may have spent more actually. But sure had fun and may revisit this route whenever I find KR Puram too crowded!

Update:

Went thru' it again today! Turned out to be a real time, fuel and body fluid (else lost to perspiration) saver! Was even more fun.

Took some more pics of the entry and the tunnel with my mobile this time! Take a look:


Taken with my mobile cam. The entry into the tunnel from the North. Only one bike at a time!

Light at the end of the Tunnel!

Found that the riders observe a simple rule to manage themselves and hence the traffic:

Do not enter till you see the end of the tunnel clear!

And simply because the tunnel is too long (and around a bend) to see who is approaching from the other end, you can only enter if you see no one else at the other end. So if there is a steady stream of bikes entering from one end, even if there is just one bike standing at the other, it'll have to wait as long as all the bikes have passed. Simple and hard reality rule and it works! No cops needed :D

Realised that I can use it when I return home too. Will help me get around an even longer jam (if ever there's one)! Let's see how many people use it in the dark tho'!

Thursday, October 11, 2007

Just Breakfast Cereal...?

Lookin' for some healthy alternative to the normal breakfast, we looked around for some breakfast cereal at our nearby Foodworld. Cornflakes have been on our table for quite some time, so this time around we decided to try out some muesli! After spending some time checking out cartons on the shelves of Foodworld, we picked up something that seemed to have a good mix of cereal and was decently priced.

It was only the next morning on actually consuming the contents did we realise that we definitely got a lot more than we had Sodexhoed for! Whether it was just an overdose of verbose English (with lots of verbs, adjectives and adverbs thrown in) or something much much more we really don't know! Take a look at snaps of the carton for more details. What do you think?


(click the images to see at full res, hit the 'Back' button to return)

If you couldn't read it, here is the transcript (tho' better read directly on the image) of what's written there (word-for-word, punctuation-mark-for-punctuation-mark, formatting-for-formatting):


Avee's [TM]
Western Style
Crunchy Muesli
Most Delicious celebrated & World Popular Mingle clustered with Raisins, Almonds & various Energetic Fruits and Foods


Western Style Crunchy Muesli
It's origin has been from Switzerland and other western countries, which proved magnificent results on mind, mood, physique, stamina, tummy, digestive system, tolerance, longitivity, and general health. Hence the western Style Crunchy Muesli has been much appreciated and motivated the liking and love of maximum personalities of various spheres of life in the world.

Benefits
Western Style Crunchy Muesli avoids dowdy or slacking & keeps one alert, smart, attractive, young, impressive and dominating. Being a most be-fitting low-fat-diet keeps a person ever-ready to take up any task successfully any time of a day or night & produce outstanding results.

Gives stamina to devote more hours on work without break & without feeling dowdy or dour.
Least time consuming and is a perfect low fat diet and a fastest food available any time without much of struggle.

Boosts vitamins, reduces cholesterol, maintains youth-fulness.

Taste & Consumption
Western Style Crunchy Muesli consumption goes up for its delicious taste, health-giving ingredients, life-long benefits and facilitates fast food.

Fibre Edible GrainsRegular use of western style crunchy muesli boosts appetite-an orderly healthy routine, maintains smart physique, stamina & sexual urge.

-----


(now to the side of the box)

(up closer if you wish)


And if you couldn't read it, here is the transcript (tho' better read directly on the image) of what's written on the side (word-for-word, punctuation-mark-for-punctuation-mark, formatting-for-formatting):

Healthy Family Food

AVEE’S WESTERN STYLE CRUNCHY MUESLI CAN BE SERVED AT ANY AND ALL TIMES OF A DAY.

Serve preferably with milk at breakfast. Also with curd, cream, yogurt as snacks and loafs etc to one’s likes, choice and requirements. With developing taste increase the regular quantity and consumption.

Most Energetic and a health gift

Keep open stuff in airtight container
-----


Now, did that carton really contain an elixir of life or something like that? Does it also mean, this over-the-shelf box of cereal can compete with the (prescription only) little-blue-pill made by a multinational pharmaceutical giant? What do you think?

And once you done with it do head on to http://www.avees.co.in/ for more in-vigour-ating surprizes!

Sunday, October 07, 2007

Got a New Key!



Well, that's my key bunch! Something I carry around all the time (atleast most of the time). It has keys to our bikes, my office desk drawers and a couple of cable locks (nice to tie down those helmets when you can't carry 'em along!)

So.... a shiny big new key's just been added to be bunch! And we are happy at the event! It sure is a big deal for us, a big milestone!

So what, if it is just a duplicate?
So what, if it is not the original?
So what, if it we haven't even officially taken posession of what it intends to lock?
So what, if what it intends to lock is not even complete?
So what, if we are actually not supposed to have a copy?


After all it is just a duplicate key.... well, for us, it is a lot more than that!

Saturday, October 06, 2007

Coward of the County?

One thing I like bout Saturday mornings is the fact that Radio Indigo plays some nice oldies instead of the "modern" tasteless music that they beam every weekday morning.

This morning as I got ready for a busy day ahead I was delighted to hear an old favourite of mine. "Coward of the County" by Kenny Rogers! As I sang along, enjoying those real meaningful lyrics, little did I know what they would mean to me a few of hours later.


About 3 hours later I was on St. Mark's Road heading towards Infantry road. I was pleased that I managed to get to the M.G. Road junction and cross it with the green signal still on. As the one way converges to just one side towards Cubbon Road, there is a usual rush to get in line. I had been tracking these few (what seemed like) brand new cars in front of me ever since they emerged the showroom on St. Mark's road. One among them was a new black Logan.

Amidst the rush to converge and clear those criss-cross lines on MG Road there was this sudden situation where the cars ahead of me braked. I did too. It was a sharp one and I braked hard. Suddenly I felt a bump in the back (seems pretty familiar now).

Looked behind a grossly overweight guy on a Pulsar looked on as if nothing had happened. Got off went behind my Wave and looked for damages. Nothing noticeable. Seems like that guy had hit the silencer. As I sat back rode on, noticed that care a damn attitude from the fat guy behind.

I was irritated. If someone rear ends you, it is his mistake and this guy was not even apologetic! If someone acknowledges their mistake and is apologetic it more than makes up even for any financial loss (broken parts) incurred. I have not braked hard enuff at times and have apologised immediately. Others have bumped me from behind and immediately said "sorry" or raised a hand in apology.

So I pull to the left (still observing this fat guy in the mirror) and let him pass me. As he overtakes I just look him in the eye and say (in Hindi) "at least you could say a sorry!"

That was it. He exploded like a volcano. I felt he tried to kick my bike. As I rode ahead (still lotsa traffic) he chased me hurling expletives. Then I had to brake to stop at the first row of the Cubbon road junction signal. This guy decides to do it again. Now purposely he runs into my Wave from behind. This was too much! First it was a mistake now on purpose. I get angry, and look behind.

He asks his pillion to get off, puts his bike on the side stand (caring little bout the Indicab which his bike is now touching) and walks towards me. Before I realise, this guy, still abusing at will, hands me a tight slap. Luckily I feel nothing coz of my helmet (which is still on and never came off during the entire episode, his did).

People around look on as if nothing happened, without even caring to intervene. I looked around but no cops could be seen for help. The only guy who happened to help was the pillion of that Pulsar. He seemed sensible and kept physically pulling this hunk back (even tho' he was much smaller in size).

This loathful damn (very restricted words) idiot, kept abusing me like crazy. He still insisted on keeping his front wheel pressed onto the Wave's rear plastic mudguard. I got off, put the bike on the centre stand and went back to check. After much shouting he pulled back. I noticed that he managed to pop out the rear tail lamp's reflector with the second purpose bump. Luckily it went back with a slight blow from my palm. I went back to riding position, with this 130 kg swollen pig still abusing and using his choice of body parts.

Every time I would raise my voice in return, he would dismount his bike and come to thrash me (now I know why his bike looked so scratched and banged up, he didn't even care). I tried to talk sane saying there is something called courtesy and you cannot raise your hand against anyone like that. Didn't effect him. He kept hurling abuses with everyone watching.

We did managed to have some verbal during all that. Or infact it was I managed to speak and he managed to shout back!

(Conversation was in Hindi, tho' am posting here in English). I asked "You should have braked in time, when I could stop in time with vehicles in front of me, why couldn't you?" His response: "Stop? How dare you suddenly apply the brake and not expect me to bang you?"

(Don't I have the right to stop at will. I am not jumping lanes or swerving into anothers' path. Just stopping in a straight line where I was).

So I say "Vehicles in front of me braked hard, so I braked too!" His response "Rickshaw to the left of me, car to the right of me, you in front of me, whom else can I crash into but you?!" (as if stopping in time was not even an option!)

I kept saying "There is something called courtesy, how can you strike someone just like that?"
He goes on "Can't control himself, telling me to control!" And the abuses went on! :)

I refuse to believe his brakes were not powerful enough (happens in some cases). He was not on some old scooter with drum brakes (as a matter of fact, I was on drum brakes)! He was on a Pulsar with disk brakes! And they can stop hard and fast if you want to! Ofcourse he must have not been paying attention or dreaming to not stop fast enough. Ofcourse I now realise he did have a lot of momentum to stop. He weighed as much as the poor Pulsar 150 under him :(.

The signal finally turned green after the stipulated 2.5 minutes and I rode on straight towards Infantry Road, the guy behind still shouting to a right onto Cubbon road.

As I rode on, I thought what was my fault. Don't I have a right to brake as fast and as hard as I can to avoid bumping something in front of me? Isn't it the responsibility of the guy behind to maintain sufficient distance and stop in time to avoid a collision? And if he cannot, at least acknowledge the fact that he tried! Also what if I was on my Pulsar 180 instead of the diminutive (in comparison) Wave? Would he have acknowledged the fact that I was on a bike bigger than his Pulsar 150 (if he would even care to notice)?

I was till fuming, angry, very angry! Then I started pondering... did I do the right thing by not fighting back? Even if I knew I was right. In fact I barely fought back verbally. Did I get intimidated by the fact he dismounted his bike every time I raised my voice in retaliation? Did I act cowardly by not giving him back tooth-for-a-tooth and nail-for-a-nail in a fight which he may have won, but at least I wouldn't be a coward. Or did I let sane prevail by not bothering about my pride and ego, and leaving these petty matters as I had more important things to do during the course of the day instead of ending up risking skin and bone against some idiotic goon?

It was then that the words of the song came back to my mind! The eternal dilemma!

What do you think?

Monday, January 22, 2007

Yet to begin

You'll have to wait before I start blogging :)